TWIST: Eric Rogers voices Crash Bandicoot in Skylanders Academy!


crashskylandsshow

Welp, the bandicoot’s out of the bag just in time for PSX 2016. I can confidently say that this might be one of the biggest twists about Crash Bandicoot’s appearance in Skylanders Academy. Eric Rogers, the showrunner (And Voice Actor) for Skylanders Academy, has been interviewed by GameSpot in a special interview setup regarding Crash Bandicoot. Have some excerpts from the interview, have a read by yourself:

I’m not sure if I have this right, but are you the one who voices him–what was that like?

Busted! I haven’t divulged this info anywhere yet because, well, I didn’t know if I could! But I guess the proverbial bandicoot is out of the bag now.

It was great fun voicing such an iconic character, but I never set out to be the one to play the role. My role as showrunner was always to write the best possible version of the character, along with my co-writer on that script, Brittany Flores. When it came time to record, I voiced Crash with a scratch track, thinking nothing further of the process. A short time after, my creative partners asked me to voice the role full-stop. I tried to talk them out of it! But it was very flattering that they valued my performance enough to really give it a go for the two episodes Crash appears in, so I dove in head-first and didn’t look back.


Is there a reason why you didn’t want to play up the fact that Crash was in the show before the season premiered in October?

I didn’t want to distract from the series as a whole getting the attention we all want it to receive. It was never about me playing Crash, and I didn’t want any of my own horn-tooting about his appearance to distract from the buzz around the entire series. And I thought there was enough pre-release hype about Crash appearing in the show anyway, so I didn’t think I needed to add anything more to that.

READ MORE ABOUT THE INTERVIEW »

 

Leave a comment below!

